Family Guy (S07E01): “Love Blactually”

Grade: B+

My review of any Family Guy episode is based on only one criteria: Does the episode make me laugh? I don’t analyze the fine points of the story, because there isn’t much to dissect, or the character growth, because there is none. Family Guy is and always has been a barrage of tricks thrown at you so fast and furiously you can’t help but find a lot of it hysterical. With that said, the season 7 premiere fell somewhere on the higher end of the laugh-meter, but still wasn’t FG at it’s best.

I love the character of Cleveland and tonight was his time to shine. I’m still questioning whether his spin-off show will be a hit, but he definitely brought the laughs and showed he’s got a whole lot of middle-aged love to give. Him stealing Bryan’s girlfriend from him was kind of unexpected and he and Miss Genital Warts having sex in every location possible and running into a grieving Bryan every step of the way was pretty funny.

This episode also addressed a couple of the Family Guy universes stranger aspects. For one, Bryan is having sex with humans and it’s totally normal. And, somehow, it seems normal to me, too (in the context of the show of course). It’s like he is human, but he’s also a dog, but thankfully logic on this show is used sparingly, so there’s not much head scratching needed. Also, the debate of whether people can understand Stewie or not might have finally been concluded. When Stewie and Bryan go to Cleveland’s cheting ex-wife’s house to try and get them back together, in order for Bryan to get back with the girl Cleveland stole from him, Bryan says he’ll do all the talking. Stewie argues he can talk because she’s one of the people far enough removed from the immediate family and friends who can’t understand him.  However, Bryan says she’s still close enough that she’ll only be able to make out bits and pieces. So: Family and close friends hear Stewie talk like a baby while non-regulars can understand him perfectly. Makes no sense, but works for me just fine.

And I’m still not retracting my opinion that Stewie is the funniest (animated) character on TV. For whatever reason, everything he says or does cracks me up. And he and Bryan make a great duo, though Bryan was so focused on getting laid that he wasn’t as humorous as usual.

For anyone that hates Family Guy, you’ll probably always feel that way. There isn’t any lasting value or clever social and political running through it (like over in South Park), but it’s just a half hour of silliness that never fails to get at least a few laughs out of me, even if they are cheap. And like I said before, if I laugh with this show, it’s a good episode.

6 Responses to “Family Guy (S07E01): “Love Blactually””

  1. See I would of gave this show an F.

  2. Thanks for another magnificent article. Where else
    may anybody get that type of information in such an ideal way of writing?

    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for
    such information.

  3. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  4. It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our dialogue made at this time.

  5. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either
    created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot
    of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization.
    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being ripped off?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  6. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging and site-building
    after that i advise him/her to pay a visit this blog, Keep up the good job.

Leave a Reply

